ACT 1516-FA-2

An Act Amending the Standing Rules Governing the Committee composition of Edward J Ray Travel Award for Scholarship and Service of

The Council of Graduate Students

Author: Roger Anderson

Sponsor: The Executive Committee

Section 1. The purpose of this act shall be to revise the Standing Rules of The Council of Graduate Students (CGS) as it pertains to the composition of the Edward J Ray Travel Award for Scholarship and Service (also known as the Professional Development Fund (PDF);

Section 2. WHEREAS current Standing Rules fail to account for the Constitution's requirement that the Treasurer oversee the Ray Award Committee;

Section 3. WHERAS the current Standing Rules mandate faculty membership on the Award committee;

Section 4. WHEREAS this appears to date from an earlier time when the funding source required faculty participation, and it has been a matter of three years or more since faculty members have served on the committee;

Section 5: WHEREAS the Standing rule regarding Committee Composition currently reads as follows: *"Committee Composition. The PDF committee shall consist of:*

- A chair, appointed by the CGS President
- At least four students
- At least two faculty members, nominated by the CGS Advisor"

Section 6. THEREFORE LET IT BE RESOLVED that, the Standing Rules will be amended to read as follows:

"Committee Composition. The Ray Travel Award committee shall consist of:

- CGS Treasurer serving as chair,
- At least four students
- In addition, up to three faculty members may be appointed by the CGS Vice President"