Council of Graduate Students
at The Ohio State University


CGS recognizes students, staff, and faculty that have contributed to the council and the university through various awards. These are given annually during the CGS Recognition & Awards ceremony. Any Ohio State graduate student is eligible to make a nomination. 

James M. Siddens Award for Distinguished Faculty Advising

In 2002, upon the retirement of James M. Siddens—the CGS faculty advisor for nearly twenty years—the Council created the James M. Siddens Award for Distinguished Faculty Advising to recognize those faculty who exemplify the best in graduate student advising at Ohio State. The only award of its kind on campus, this award is given annually each spring to one member of the graduate faculty.

Larry M. Lewellen Award for Distinguished Service

Since 1974, the Council of Graduate Students has presented awards to those students, staff, faculty, administrators and community members who have rendered exceptional service to graduate students at The Ohio State University.

Kerry M. Hodak Award for Exceptional Staff Mentoring

Created in 2020, this award recognizes a staff member who exemplifies the spirit of cura personalis in aiding the academic, personal, and professional development of graduate students. This award is given annually each spring to one Ohio State staff member.

Colin Odden Delegate Award For Exceptional Service

Any CGS Delegate who has made a significant contribution to CGS and graduate students in the past year is eligible to be acknowledged with this award. The CGS Executive Board will recognize up to three students this year for exception service.

Committee Chair Award for Excellence

Any CGS Committee Chair who has shown significant progress and commitment to ideas and the graduate student experience through their appointment is eligible for this award.